Connect with us


T20 World Cup 2024: Most of Indian players to depart for New York on May 25



The T20 World Cup 2024 is all set to begin on June 1 and all the participating teams have started departing for the Americas. According to a recent report, most of Indian players will be leaving for New York on May 25.

Rohit Sharma will lead India in the T20 World Cup 2024 with Virat Kohli as a crucial part of the side. (Photo – X)

New Delhi: As the participating nations in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 have started departing for the Americas, it has come to light that the majority of the Indian players will be flying out to New York on May 25 along with the jumbo support staff. Those who still have some business left in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, will only leave after the epic final on May 26.

Earlier, the players of teams that failed to qualify for the playoffs were supposed to leave for New York on May 21, two days after the final league IPL game on May 19 (double-header) but it is understood that a few changes have been made in plans and the first batch of the Men in Blue will be leaving on May 25.

“The likes of skipper Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Arshdeep Singh, Axar Patel are some of the players along with support staff who are expected to leave on May 25,” news agency PTI quoted an anonymous BCCI source.

“Earlier, departure date for first batch was May 21 but since India is playing only one warm-up game (against Bangladesh on June 1), the players will get to spend some extra days at home,” the source added.

India’s initial itinerary

Those Indian players who are part of the IPL playoff stage and the final clash will stay back and will leave for New York on May 27. The departures are well planned in order to give adequate time to the squad to reduce the jet lag and have a minimum of three to four quality net sessions before the warm-up fixture against Bangladesh, the time and venue of which are yet to be announced.

Team India will start their campaign against Ireland on June 5 in New York, followed by the highly-anticipated clash against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 9. Both games will be played at the newly built Nassau County International Cricket Stadium on the outskirts of New York City.

India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Continue Reading