Connect with us


ICC T20 World Cup trophy tour: Dates, schedule and locations as USA & West Indies get ready to host cricket showpiece | Sporting News



The countdown to the T20 Cricket World Cup is underway, and New York’s Empire State Building was lit up recently as the city celebrated the coming of the tournament.

This will be the first time that an ICC tournament finds its home in the United States, and the country has pulled out all the stops to get ready for the event, which begins on June 1. 

The “Out Of This World” Trophy Tour ahead of the T20I World Cup 2024 travels over 15 countries across the globe. The aim of the tour is to have the fans and legendary cricketers have a closer experience of the grandest T20I event so far.

Two-time T20I World Cup Champion, Chris Gayle, and the USA Cricket poster-boy, Ali Khan, were present at the New York Empire State Building in the iconic city of New York. The duo lit up the building to mark the start of the worldwide trophy tour.

T20 Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour: Dates, venues and locations

There are a total of 15 countries across four continents who will get the first-hand experience of the “Out Of This World” T20I World Cup Trophy tour. The list includes all nine host venues across the Windies and the USA.

Apart from the two host countries, the trophy tour also includes budding and potential cricketing powerhouses, in Brazil, Argentina, and Canada.

The aim of the International Cricket Council (ICC) is to give the new and existing fans a taste of the tournament build-up.

It is now under three months to go to the ICC T20I World Cup. The schedule for the first month of the Trophy tour was released first, but more venues are set to follow.

MORE: When is the ICC T20 World Cup? Full dates and qualifiers for the tournament

The ICC announced the first schedule of the T20I World Cup Trophy tour. The WC Trophy will travel to the West Indies, Argentina and Brazil, besides the initial stop that took place in the United States.

Date Venue
18 March – 20 March New York (The USA)
21 March – 23 March Houston, Grand Prairie and Dallas (The USA)
26 March – 27 March Buenos Aires (Argentina)
28 March – 29 March Sao Paulo (Brazil)
03 April – 04 April Jamaica (West Indies)
13 April – 14 April Barbados (West Indies)
17 April – 18 April Antigua and Barbuda (West Indies)
19 April – 20 April Saint Lucia (West Indies)
Continue Reading